Advisory Board

The Advisory Board of the Federal Academy for Security Policy is responsible for providing advice to the Board of Trustees on all matters relating to interagency advanced training in security policy. It gives recommendations on both contents and structuring of teaching and on its further development.

 The Advisory Board is comprised of about twenty politically and economically relevant actors from the wider field of security policy. They include political scientists and journalists as well as representatives of the churches, senior officials or prominent figures from trade and industry or associations. Advisory Board members are appointed for a period of three years, and reappointment of members is possible. The composition of the Advisory Board is to vary in part to ensure consistency, but to allow for innovation.

The Advisory Board usually convenes twice a year, and its meetings are confidential. Apart from members of the Advisory Board and the Academy management, only members of the Federal Security Council are allowed at any time to attend meetings of the Advisory Board.

On 16 October 2018, the following members were appointed to the 8th Advisory Board of the Federal Academy for Security Policy:

  • Günter Bannas – Head (ret.),
    Berlin Office of Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung
  • Agnieszka Brugger, Member of the German Bundestag, Bündnis 90 / Die Grünen
  • Gertrud Casel – Chairwoman (ret.),
    Exposure- und Dialogprogramme e.V.
  • Dr. Fritz Felgentreu, Member of the German Bundestag, SPD
  • Tanja Gönner – Chair of the Management Board,
    German Corporation for International Cooperation (GIZ)
  • Florian Hahn, Member of the German Bundestag, CSU
  • Militärgeneraldekan Matthias Heimer
    Head of the Protestant Church for the Bundeswehr
  • Prof. Dr. Claudia Kemfert – Head of Energy, Transportation, Environment at the German Institute of Economic Research;
    Professor of Energy Economics and Sustainability, Hertie School of Governance
  • Dr. Markus Kerber – State Secretary,
    Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community
  • Roderich Kiesewetter, Member of the German Bundestag, CDU
  • Walter Kolbow – Parliamentary State Secretary (ret.), SPD
  • Janina Kugel – Chief Human Resources Officer, Siemens
  • Prof. em. Dr. Joachim Krause – Director,
    Institute for Security Policy, University of Kiel
  • Prof. Dr. Carlo Masala – Professor of International Politics,
    Bundeswehr University, München
  • Prof. Dr. Sönke Neitzel – Professor of War Studies, Potsdam University
  • Prof. Dr. Beate Neuss – Deputy Chairwoman, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V.;
    Professor of Political Science, Chemnitz University of Technology
  • Dr. Thomas Paulsen – Member of the Executive Board,
    Körber Foundation
  • Dr. Stefan Schmittmann – Chairman of the Supervisory Board,
    Commerzbank AG
  • Dr. Daniela Schwarzer – Director,
    German Council on Foreign Relations (DGAP)
  • Dr. Marie-Agnes Strack-Zimmermann, Member of the German Bundestag, FDP
  • Oswin Veith, Member of the German Bundestag, CDU;
    President of the German Reservists Association
  • Eva M. Welskop-Deffaa – Head of Social and Sectoral Politics,
    German Caritas Association; Ministerial Director (ret.)
  • Dr. Almut Wieland-Karimi – Director,
    Center for International Peace Operations (ZIF)
  • Bettina Wiesmann, Member of the German Bundestag, CDU